Rockey Patel The Edge Maduro

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Rocky Patel The Edge, maduro

Immediate impression was that this cigar had a great feel and texture. The gorgeous Maduro finish was almost black, and not without a certain shine to it. The prelight aroma was deep leather and hard oak. It opened with a good, heavy flavor. There was a high volume of smoke, with an immediate flavor of oiled leather and hard woods. Though it lit well at first, with a smooth, clear draw, there were some issues as it burned. I had some runs throughout the stick, and one side clearly burned more heavily. This cigar takes excellent marks for flavor and smoke, but poor marks on construction, at least on this one.

About thegentlemanandscholar

Southern Gentleman transplanted to southern California. I like a good whiskey, wine, or cigar, and try to enjoy the finer things in life. I am a veteran, a writer, a soldier, a businessman, a student, and a sartorialist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rockey Patel The Edge Maduro

  1. Brian says:

    While I lack your knowledge of the cigar flavor lexicon, my experience with RP’s Edge was much the same: flavorful, but in need of constant attention due to runners and uneven burns. I thought perhaps it had dried out somewhat unevenly in my humidor here in Afghanistan. There’s probably a better solution I’m unware of, but I usually end up torching the unburned edge to quickly catch it up to the other side. No doubt I’m committing cigar heresy, because it obviously disturbs the taste.

    • Brian, your actions of correcting the runs with a quick blast of butane fueled flame is exactly what you should have done. While I cannot comment on the conditions of your humidor (hopefully you are keeping it up as well as you can) The Edge had an inconsistancy that I tend to blame more on the construction than on how it was stored (though this can also have a detrimental effect on your puros) These touch ups to fix runners do annoy me a bit, because, as you mentioned, they distrub the flavor – generally this only lasts a few puffs before the seared tobacco is burned away, but it is very difficult for me to continue my enjoyment of a cigar after it has been relit or there have been extensive runs.

Leave a Reply

