Kristoff Maduro Cigar Review

Kristoff Maduro

The Kristoff Maduro has a very sweet pre-light aroma, with traces of honey and vanilla. It is firm to the touch, without any oil or give. The first thing that is noticeable is the tight pig tail at the head, and the tailored tobacco wrapping the foot of this cigar. Don’t expect it to light quickly, as the extra wrapper covers the binder and filler, and must be burned through to get a good cherry going.

The cigar opens with clean, light smoke, the Kristoff is an excellent example of a light bodied maduro that will cancel out any novice idea that all dark cigars are strong and harsh. The smooth, light flavor persists throughout. There are notes of leather, with the faint taste of espresso, rounded out with a soft cedar.

The construction, as I evaluate it, is impeccable. A firm gray ash that has shown no signs of wavering, while no runs or relights require it to be knocked off.

This is an excellent smoke that deceived me with it’s plain, and common wrapper. I don’t know why I let it sit in my humidor so long without any well deserved attention.

My experience with this cigar also leads me to believe that the puros under my care in my own humidor are far better kept than the ones quartered at my favorite cigar lounge. There was never a case of the cigar going out, or having any runs to correct (granted, this is as much in the construction as in how it is kept) despite me typing while I smoke, and savoring a fine scotch at the same time. This brings both a boost to my ego, at having kept such fine care of the cigars I entrusted to my cedar and cherry wood box, and a pain of disappointment at the latest performances of my favorite establishment.  Though I do love a smoke in good company, there is something to be said for being alone with one’s thoughts, enjoying the luxury of familiar surroundings and your own estate (I use the term loosely, but not without affection)

About thegentlemanandscholar

Southern Gentleman transplanted to southern California. I like a good whiskey, wine, or cigar, and try to enjoy the finer things in life. I am a veteran, a writer, a soldier, a businessman, a student, and a sartorialist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

