Wine Series: Sol De Chile – Cabernet Savignon, 2010

One of the more gentlemanly activities that I tend to enjoy, but have yet to truly document here is wine tasting. Well, I say tasting, but what I really mean is drinking. That’s actually what most of us mean. I certainly appreciate the nuances and depth of flavor contained in a good wine, but this doesn’t mean that I sniff it and spit. I enjoy my wine. I imbibe it. I consume it. It can augment an activity and can be the activity in itself. I enjoy it with company, or on my own. I drink it with a meal, and as the main event. I like wine for wine’s sake.

Two Christmases ago I received a leather bound wine journal from my sister. You know what I mean – the kind of thing with tasting notes, buzz words, and space for you to write your own evaluations. Well, as I started spending more money on wines, I decided I should really remember better the ones that I liked and the ones that left a little something to be desired, not to mention certain vintages and appellations that I find particularly good, so I started to use the journal. It is not nearly as full as I would like it to be (really, who’s tasting notes are?) but it has helped me see patterns and styles that I really enjoy, and no matter how much I pay attention, might have been missed had they not been recorded. And what are these notes, opinions, and reviews if not ready made blog posts?

And so with that, I shall endeavor to transfer the contents of my tasting journal onto a digital copy, and place it here in a series of wine blogs. They will be shorter posts, terse and to the point, but with any luck, descriptive and informative. I’ll also make a valiant effort to include images of bottles so you will know what to look for, and considering these are all from my personal collection (yes, I can call it that) and were enjoyed for the most part, at home, the wines will be mainly those that can be found at most any wine boutique or grocer. Of course, living as close as I do to some excellent California vineyards there also may be some harder to find varieties, but with my budget and portfolio diversified into whiskies and cigars as well, they are few and far between.

So with no more background or introduction, I bring you:

Sol De Chile – Cabernet Savignon, 2010
Villa Alegre, Chile
Sol De Chile

Dark red, lustrous color. Clarity is dark and clear, but with a noticeable sediment at the end.

The aroma is deep and heavy in dark fruits. The nose brings the smell of currents and cherry, with a hint of hardwoods.

On the first taste the flavor of dark cherries was immediately noticeable. It is deep and complex and coincided very well with the aroma. The nose did not lie. It is balanced well, and drinks like a good cabernet ought to.

Estate bottled and labeled as “unfiltered” this become more and more noticeable as I drank. My time in Chile has made my very fond of Chilean wines – through nostalgia as much as through their very worthy quality. The Sol De Chile was no different, and did not disappoint. There is a deep, excellent flavor, but it was seriously impaired by the sediment. I will definitely drink this again, but next time only after it is filtered and breathes a bit more.

Overall rating: 6

About thegentlemanandscholar

Southern Gentleman transplanted to southern California. I like a good whiskey, wine, or cigar, and try to enjoy the finer things in life. I am a veteran, a writer, a soldier, a businessman, a student, and a sartorialist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

