Sun Washed Surf

I thought this post appropriate to share, as appreciation of art is definitely a gentlemanly quality. This painting is done by my Aunt, and was commissioned by my father as a Christmas gift. It is a wonderful piece and one that will be very fitting in our California home. Enjoy!

Mikki Senkarik

SL12813 Step 1

Another Christmas commission. This one is a gift for a couple who live near the beach in California. Their father contacted us and asked if I had any ideas of what might be fun for them. Well…..I love painting the rocky coast of the Golden Bear State, let’s show that through an open door. My initial plan is sketched up on the canvas in an oil wash.

SL12813 Step 2

The sky is painted first. Then I work forward, blocking in the water and rugged coastline. I’m using La Jolla as my model, the azure water there is so beautiful. Oh, I almost forgot. If you’d like to see any of the pictures larger, just click on the image.

SL12813 Step 3

The scene through the doors is complete, I think the tall La Jolla palms are really cool. Climbing Roses tumble over the terrace wall. Then the dark building and Trumpet Vine act to frame…

View original post 195 more words

About thegentlemanandscholar

Southern Gentleman transplanted to southern California. I like a good whiskey, wine, or cigar, and try to enjoy the finer things in life. I am a veteran, a writer, a soldier, a businessman, a student, and a sartorialist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

