Tullamore Dew, Triple Distilled Irish Whiskey

tullamore-dew-700-cc-clubdelwhisky-chile

Tullamore Dew, triple distilled Irish Whiskey

I must confess that this is the first time I have tried Tullamore Dew. I had always passed by it on the shelf and it had never stood out behind the bar. I regarded it as simply a run of the mill, mid-priced Irish whiskey, and to be honest, the “Dew” in the name led me to associate it more with a cordial type drink like a Southern Comfort: good for deserts or at a party, but not for a serious whiskey drinker. I was, I am not afraid to admit, mistaken. The exceptional amount of buzz generated by their recent ad campaign (Thank you Fast Company, and MAJ Englund) led me to take this whiskey more seriously and try a bottle. I am glad that I did.

The Tullamore Dew triple distilled Irish whiskey is a light gold color, without the deep browns of bourbon or the heavy ambers found in an aged scotch. The aroma is one of crisp straw with hints of vanilla. Much more nuanced than darker whiskies. Light and crisp at first taste, with the immediate flavor of rich hay and grain, it evolves into a sweet warming honey as it finishes on the palette. The vanilla and straw on the nose is quite evident in the flavor. This is a light, almost airy whiskey that is extremely smooth and full of complex flavors. Tullamore Dew reminds me how much I enjoy Irish whiskey, and its warm honey and slight sweetness is a hallmark of that nation. This is a welcome change of pace for a man who’s regular refreshment is bourbon, and I will have to endeavor to bring it into my even rotation. An excellent whiskey, and one that I would highly recommend.

About thegentlemanandscholar

Southern Gentleman transplanted to southern California. I like a good whiskey, wine, or cigar, and try to enjoy the finer things in life. I am a veteran, a writer, a soldier, a businessman, a student, and a sartorialist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

