Antique Pipe Case

One of my followers on Instagram, @elderwoodpipes, asked for more information on a series of posts I made yesterday featuring an antique rolling leather pipe case. Pushing myself to write more, I figured I would use this opportunity to give some more information and a bit of an explanation.

A while back I wrote about an heirloom pipe cleaning solution (note: this is not a solution to clean heirloom pipes – the solution itself is the heirloom) that came from my mother’s cousin, Clint C. Given, Tobacconist, of Montgomery, Alabama. The recipe for the cleaning solution was found amidst a large amount of papers, correspondence, and accoutrements of the tobacconist’s trade that I had inherited. One of these was a black leather rolling case that had two adjustable leather straps running the length of its interior. Snuggly nestled within the se straps were various tampers and bowls made from metal, glass, ivory, and silver, that are used to tamp down loose pipe tobacco into the bowl of a pipe before lighting. This type of rolling pipe case is not common, despite being an antique, – with most similar products being more of a pouch for loose tobacco with the occasional slot for a pipe or tool. This leads me to believe that it may not be a pipe specific case at all, but something more for a high end tool set or something of the sort. This, however strikes me as somewhat less romantic and I will choose to use it for the more gentlemanly activity of protecting heirloom pipes and their associated tools.

InstagramCapture_970a4b09-3226-4297-b343-52c743396aa1InstagramCapture_598846be-47a5-4918-a760-3818001d8716

This, of course, invites a future blog on the various cigar cases that exist on the market, and what I use. How do you transport or protect your pipes, tobacco, or cigars?

About thegentlemanandscholar

Southern Gentleman transplanted to southern California. I like a good whiskey, wine, or cigar, and try to enjoy the finer things in life. I am a veteran, a writer, a soldier, a businessman, a student, and a sartorialist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

