Wine Series: J. Lohr Merlot – “Los Osos”

A continuation of my long suffering wine series – recording online the infernal scratches of my pen in a notebook. I am going back in time quite a bit with these, as my blog publishing has no where near caught up with my wine consumption. This particular wine was enjoyed during the week preceding my graduation with my MBA, with all the duly applicable festivities that went along with it.

J. Lohr Merlot

Lohr Melot “Los Osos”

Vintage: 2010

Country & Region: California, Paso Robles

Tasted Where & When: 25 May, 2013 on my patio, with family and good company

Color: Dark red, very deep

Clarity: Clear, though quite dark

Aroma: Rich fruits, heavy, deep, full aroma of cherry and plum

Flavor: There is definitely that bit of a bite that is common to melots, but without the heavy tannins that are normally associated with them. The J. Lohr is smooth and fruity.

Comments: This is a very nice merlot. Quite pleasant. I enjoyed this wine with a very good Berger & Argenti cigar which did not seem to inhibit the flavor. This merlot was smooth and fruity with heavy flavors of dark cherry, but not sweet. Sufficiently tart with tannin, but not like many of the heavy merlots with significant bite behind their fruit. I will definitely drink again.

Rating: 7+

About thegentlemanandscholar

Southern Gentleman transplanted to southern California. I like a good whiskey, wine, or cigar, and try to enjoy the finer things in life. I am a veteran, a writer, a soldier, a businessman, a student, and a sartorialist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

