Wine Review: 14 Hands “Hot to Trot” Red Blend

14 Hands “Hot to Trot” Red Blend

Vintage: 2010

Country & Region: Columbia River Valley, Washington

Tasted Where & When: 26 May, 2013 – Back patio with a Graycliff Lancero

Color: Very dark with a purple tint

Clarity: Clear, with no sediment, but far too dark to see through the body

Aroma: Deep, rich aroma; Very full, with notes of black pepper and currants.

Flavor: Taste comes out with a bit of spice and nutmeg. It thought it was sweet, but my tasting companion disagreed. Overall, the flavor was very smooth and pleasant.

Comments: Very good, considering many regard blends as being inferior (I have seen some compare then to a blended scotch vs a single malt, though I don’t think that is a good side by side) the flavor and feel was quite pleasant overall. This is one that I would definitely consider drinking again.

Rating: 7

About thegentlemanandscholar

Southern Gentleman transplanted to southern California. I like a good whiskey, wine, or cigar, and try to enjoy the finer things in life. I am a veteran, a writer, a soldier, a businessman, a student, and a sartorialist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wine Review: 14 Hands “Hot to Trot” Red Blend

  1. susan sebkarik says:

    …. Gee, I thought the first time you had 14 Hands was with me… But, could be wrong. Regardless, I have become very fond of blends – including this one and Kendal Jackson Summation …. I am not a big fan of Kendal Jackson wines with a taste/cost value comparison but I like Summation …. That said, I agree, this 14 Hands holds up very well… Plus, I’m a horse gal so I like the name…. 14 hands is a Big Horse!

    Susan senkarik Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

