Wine Series: 2006 Monte De Oro Cabernet Sauvignon

A continuation of my attempts to digitize and publish the handwritten remarks in my wine books. Yes, I have wine books. Yes, I use them. They force me to think about what I’m drinking rather than just knock it back.

Monte De Oro is a winery that I am somewhat fond of in that it is relatively local (Temecula, CA) and the experience of the winery itself was quite enjoyable. This bottle was emptied quite a while ago, but thankfully I have my notes and I am able to remember how much I liked both the wine, and the company.

WP_20150505_003Monte De Oro Cabernet Sauvignon

Vintage: 2006

Country & Region: California, Temecula Valley

Tasted When & Where: 28 May, 2013 at home, on my patio, with enjoyable company

Color: Very red, with a lighter, woody tint to the edges. Very strong legs

Clarity: Very clear. Light enough to even see through the center

Aroma: Strong, deep, and full. Heavy nose of currants and cherries, but it mellows out as it breaths

Flavor: The taste is much lighter than expected. It opens sweet and incredibly smooth. There is a flavor of sweet cherries at the front, filling out to plum at the back.

Comments: This is a bottle that I received directly from the vineyard in Temecula. It was excellent when I tasted it there in the tasting room (as often is the case – the environment often lends its influence) and I had hoped the bottle would remain just as good after having laid it down for a few years.

The color and aroma mellow out considerably as it breaths. There are defined flavors of cherry and currants, with plum in the tannins and aftertaste. This cabernet has a lighter flavor than I had expected, and would pair well with duck or lamb. I hope to enjoy a bottle again soon.

Rating: 8+

About thegentlemanandscholar

Southern Gentleman transplanted to southern California. I like a good whiskey, wine, or cigar, and try to enjoy the finer things in life. I am a veteran, a writer, a soldier, a businessman, a student, and a sartorialist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

