Drew Estate Undercrown

Drew Estate Undercrown


This is a cigar that I have reviewed several times and I am fond of. I don’t want to go back through my old posts to see if I have written on it before for a number of reasons – one of which is that it is always good to get a second review, which you can then compare to old notes and see how your palette is developing.

Using matches rather than butane, this was not the easiest to light, but that might have had something to do with it being slightly plugged, and I cut it a second time to get a decent draw. Plugging happens with even the best rolled cigars, and while sometimes frustrating, I don’t think that I will let it shape my opinion on the Undercrown as a whole.

Once the cigar was lit and the draw was taken care of, the smoke was a joy to behold. There was a high volume or rich, velvety smoke that was well worth the effort to get out. Because of the draw, I wouldn’t fully call the cigar smooth, but the flavor certainly was.

Medium bodied, but not intense, the Undercrown certainly requires focus. There are more subtle flavors at play in this cigar, rather than the overpowering leather or oak that one often associates with a smoke of this caliber. There are some floral and honey notes, along with a hint of mocha that I really enjoyed.

The sweet spot is definitely in the middle of the cigar, but each section has its own nuances and none are anything but enjoyable. There is no harsh aftertaste, and the burn remains even and well-formed throughout the smoke.

This is a big cigar, but not huge, and a slow smoke. I was puffing for well over an hour, but enjoyed every minute of it.

Once again, I remember why I like Drew Estate cigars, and the Undercrown in particular. Do yourself a favor and try one out.

About thegentlemanandscholar

Southern Gentleman transplanted to southern California. I like a good whiskey, wine, or cigar, and try to enjoy the finer things in life. I am a veteran, a writer, a soldier, a businessman, a student, and a sartorialist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

