Plans for the Future

So here I am again, with an unacceptably long hiatus between now and my last post, and a considerable about of time between that one and the one before it. I enjoy writing. I enjoy the subjects that I choose to write on for this blog, and I enjoy having it as part of my life, but I need to find a way to coordinate it all. I drink wine, but often it is with the amicable company that comes with a good bottle, and therefore do not feel like excusing myself to make notes on the nose, body, and flavor profile. I dress every morning for work, and often in the tailored slacks, sport coats, and brooks brothers polos that I post on Instagram and look at approvingly any time I window shop. I don’t, however, make up a story about each outfit in order to have something to write about… it is just something that I do as part of my life. I smoke cigars, but like with wine, I rarely do so alone. I am often surrounded by friends, peers, associates, and outstanding people of character. While I enjoy the smoke, and often carry on a lively conversation about it with my company, I am very seldom willing to tear myself away to put pen to paper and record my thoughts. This, of course, is something that I need to change, but I am not willing to surrender the parts of this lifestyle that make it enjoyable just to do that. If I did, then really, what is the point?

In light of this, I find myself posting to my Instagram account more often than anything else – even twitter (which I keep promising to use more often) and a big part of this might be my follower base on that medium and the instant gratification and feedback that I receive. It keeps things interesting, but at the same time, it is here, on the actual blog, where I can get my opinions and thoughts across – and hopefully someone reads them. My social media accounts associated with this blog are, of course, linked here, but I don’t know how many people who like a picture actually take the time to read an article associated with it. It is probably not many.

I don’t know what kind of changes I can make in order to differentiate this blog from others, or to force myself to put more information on it, but I can do what I can to try and make them. In the future look for shorter, more specialized posts, but I am running the razors edge between an easy read and good writing. I’d like to focus on more gentlemanly and scholarly issues than the more esoteric and vanity inducing quick posts on fashion or wine (though I will still do those posts too) and I will try to integrate pictures and images more often into what I do – if for no other reason to coordinate across social media and my established blog.

I would also be interested in other ways to monetize what I am doing here – affiliate marketing of course, but also I might look into my own accessory sales or self-published ebooks. Hopefully this doesn’t get too much of an eye roll from my readers, but a few extra dollars a month would be certainly good motivation to contine with the writing that I enjoy, and to force myself to put pen to paper more often. I’d just like to start seeing something for the effort.

What are your thoughts on any of this? I am open to opinions, suggestions, or feedback of any kind. Thanks again!

About thegentlemanandscholar

Southern Gentleman transplanted to southern California. I like a good whiskey, wine, or cigar, and try to enjoy the finer things in life. I am a veteran, a writer, a soldier, a businessman, a student, and a sartorialist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

