Notes on the BREXIT

I wish I could say that I saw this coming, but I truthfully did not. I feel for the British people, and I understand where they are coming from, but I did not think that the vote would swing toward an exit. Were I a British citizen, I would likely have cast my ballot in the exit camp, and many of my British friends and associates agree (though not all, by any means) but it certainly caught me by surprise.

I have never been much of a fan of the European Union. The lack of a national monetary policy is an issue for me, and the recent troubles in Greece, Portugal, and Spain have all gone to show this as a valid point. Britain, in truth, has never been a full-fledged partner on the financial side in choosing to keep the Pound sterling, and for good reason. This exit vote just goes to further break from a broken system.

Furthermore I feel that the cultural differences are too great to form an actually united Europe. There are comparisons to the United States as a union of independent states, but these are grasping comparisons, at best, and in my mind are immediately negated by the cultural similarities that the 13 American colonies shared when they became the United States, and then proceeded to develop as the expanded. Europe has no real way to do this.

There is a long political and economic analysis that I could do on this subject, but I doubt that such an article would be too terribly interesting to my readers, and they are likely already inundated by such information on their current news feeds (meaning actual news, not Facebook) instead I will just say that I am somewhat shocked by the exit vote. I support the British exit (no matter what it might be doing right now to my investment accounts) and I think that in the long term this will be a good move for the UK, but I didn’t see it happening like this, and at this point (if I did, then it wouldn’t have had nearly the aforementioned negative impact.)

From the standpoint of this Gentleman and Scholar, tip o’ the hat to the British nationalists. You’ve decided that it isn’t ideal to have your cultural, financial, and foreign policies controlled and influenced by a far away, out of touch government across the water. No real surprise there. Cheers!

About thegentlemanandscholar

Southern Gentleman transplanted to southern California. I like a good whiskey, wine, or cigar, and try to enjoy the finer things in life. I am a veteran, a writer, a soldier, a businessman, a student, and a sartorialist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

